And Snow for Free

A student from India studying in Denmark said that he loved the fact he didn’t have to travel and spend money to see snow, it was right here. I see his point, though I am not that big a snow lover. I come from a town that has temperatures well over 35 C for the most part of the year, and we do have to spend a lot to travel up to the north of our country to see snow. When I was small (and lived there), once or twice in a decade we had rain that was preceded by a few minutes (or seconds) of ice pellets. It was fascinating, and I have memories of each episode of sleet. They were also especially magical to me when I saw them the first time when I was probably 4 years old.I had not seen ice before, as we did not have a refrigerator, and the pellets seemed to vanish as soon as I caught them.

We had a light snowstorm this Sunday, and there is a respectable amount of snow all around, which does not always happen in the Danish winter, which has more black ice than snow.

image

I really appreciate the dedicated supervisors of the apartments in my street. Throughout they year they take care of many things related to the buildings and surrounding parks, but I appreciate two tedious and toilsome tasks in particular. The easier one is the lawn mowing of all the parks around my building in summer. The grass grows so fast, and they seem to mow all the time. They use both ride-on mowers and manual cylinder mowers. My toddling daughter loves to watch the lawn-mowing machines, and all strange sounds (new upstairs neighbor drilling holes for days on) can be explained to her using lawn mower logic (there is a lawn mower upstairs) and she is less scared and satisfied with the explanation. The promise of showing a lawn mower can get her to budge when she is deeply preoccupied with a colorful crinkly scrunchy wrapper, for example. Long live the lawnmowers!

But the more arduous task is cleaning the snow off the street (right up to our doorstep) with a snow sweeper before the people start leaving for their jobs in the morning. They start pretty early with this machine that brushes off snow and also sprinkles salt, which I found fascinating, having never seen one before. I suspect they work night shifts too, because I have seen the flashing vehicle work at 3 am too. During the snowstorm on Sunday, they kept brushing the snow away all day. I know it is their job, but it is a hard job in minus temperatures, and I really appreciate their dedication to that job, and the smile they always greet us with.

k

8 thoughts on “And Snow for Free

  1. 8020sund

    They really should be appreciated:) I like snow in December, but would really like it if we could jump right into spring on 1 January…

    Reply
    1. Nomad Post author

      I know what you mean! But I must say I found the winter of Paris faaaar more boring, here we see the sun once in a week at least, or sometimes more. There was no sun for 5-6 months in Paris in the winter I spent there. The winter was shorter than it is here, but was more difficult and depressing for me.
      Here, the supervisers clean the snow off the streets (they don’t in Paris, and I slipped and fell many times on ice :) ), the sun shines once in a while due to the strong winds blowing away the clouds, the houses have excellent insulation and heating, so for me personally, I am ok with the winter here.

      Reply
      1. 8020sund

        Well, when you put it that way I guess winter here is not so bad :) I spent half a winter in Luxembourg two years ago and the snow paralyzed the whole (little) country. I also fell quite a few times because they didn’t clean the streets…after a while it stopped being embarassing;)

        Reply
        1. Nomad Post author

          Whenever I fell, I was cushioned by my 7 layers of clothing! I had to research on internet for winter clothing, and came across the concept of “layers”. It was -14 C, and my seven layers saved me from both freezing to death and breaking my bones.

          Reply
    1. Nomad Post author

      Oh really? This one is afdeling 12. That is very nice, please pass on my best regards and thanks to him for the wonderful work he does, he makes a great difference in the lives of the residents wherever he works. Many people are not civil enough and I see the supervisors have to tidy up the mess people have created. And they work very hard indeed. I am grateful to them.

      Reply
    1. Nomad Post author

      Yesterday while discussing this, I came to know that not all streets around ours are this clean (not cleaned off snow so frequently all day). So our super is really “super” dedicated.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

